The Circle – Sammy, Micheal, Bonham and Vic live from the Rose Music Center in Huber Heights, OH

by Craig Noce on June 24, 2015

The.Circle.ZTP.005The Circle is the latest musical project from legendary rocker Sammy Hagar, featuring a truly all star line up that includes Michael Anthony formerly of Van Halen and Chickenfoot on bass and vocals, Jason Bonham; son of late Led Zeppelin drummer John Bonham; the drums and Vic Johnson, whom partnered up with Sammy in 1999 on the post-Van Halen solo band the “The Waboritas” playing on lead.

Their stage presence alone is worth the price of admission, toss in a set list covering over 4 decades of smash hits and you have a recipe for one of the greatest summer concert experiences of the year. A performance like none other, packed with greatest hits from the groups previous endeavors including Van Halen, Led Zeppelin, Montrose, Chickenfoot and of course Sammy Hagar’s long solo career.

On Saturday, June 20th, The Circle took the stage at the newly opened Rose Music Center in Huber Heights, OH. Just prior to the The.Circle.ZTP.004opening set the audience was treated to a music video montage of photos and clips of past performances. Immediately following the presentation the band hit the stage erupting into “There’s Only One Way to Rock” from Sammy Hagar’s 1981 album “Standing Hampton”, followed by “Rock Candy” from “Montrose” 1974 debut album, “Good Times Bad Times” from “Led Zeppelin’s 1969 debut album and the 1991 Van Halen #1 Billboard hit “Poundcake”.

Sammy Hagar’s reputation as one of the “nicest guys in rock” precedes him and it is evident with both his band mates and the fans. Throughout the performance Micheal Anthony would seamlessly take over vocals while Sammy paused to shake hands and sign items from the crowd. Sammy also took a few minutes to joke with drummer Jason Bonham about the heat and how cold and foggy it would be back in Jason’s home town in England, only to be corrected by Jason, that he now lives in Florida. The.Circle.ZTP.001Handing the mic off to Jason, he talked briefly about his late father, Led Zeppelin drummer, John Bonham and how he never really knew the impact he and his music would ultimately have on the world.  Finally thanking Sammy for the opportunity to play and calling him the nicest The.Circle.ZTP.003boss anyone could hoped to work for.

One of the many highlights of the evening came when Sammy asked to raise the house lights as bright as they could and bring out a video camera as he lead the crowd in singing “Happy Birthday” to a modest Michael Anthony, the video which can seen here on Micheal’s “Mad Anthony’s Cafe” Facebook page.

The.Circle.ZTP.006The Circle’s debut “Greatest Hits” album “At Your Service” is available now on iTunes and Amazon. For more information and tour dates for the best summer concert experience of 2015 be sure to “support the good guys” this summer by checking out Sammy Hagar’s official website and Facebook page.

For more photos from the show, please check out the gallery link.


June 20th, 2015 Rose Music Center, The Circle set list:

  • There’s Only One Way to Rock (Hagar – 1981)
  • Rock Candy (Montrose – 1973)
  • Good Times Bad Times (Led Zepplin – 1969)
  • Poundcake (Van Halen – 1991)
  • I Can’t Drive 55 (Hagar – 1984)
  • Right Now (Van Halen – 1992)
  • Whole Lotta Love (Led Zepplin – 1969)
  • Little White Lies (Hagar – 1997)
  • When the Levee Breaks (Led Zepplin – 1971)
  • Heavy Metal (Hagar – 1981)
  • Runaround (Van Halen – 1991)
  • Why Can’t This Be Love (Van Halen – 1986)
  • Mas Tequila (The Waboritas – 1999)
  • Dreams (Van Halen – 1986)
  • Rock and Roll (Led Zepplin – 1971)
What's your reaction?
Leave a reply

You must log in to post a comment

Explicit Content

The Contortionist Are Coming Back To The Newport Music Hall With Nothingmore


ALBUM REVIEW: From the Offices of the Royal Documentarian

JOHN CORABI to RELEASE LIVE 94 (One Night in Nashville) FEBRUARY 16th

Tasty New Track Out From Black Label Society: TRAMPLED DOWN BELOW

A Perfect Circle Disillusioned

A Perfect Circle Welcomes 2018 With A New Track!

LAS RAGEOUS Music Festival Returns to Vegas – Tickets Onsale This Week!

2018 Monster Energy Fort Rock Band Lineup Announced

Save the Dates – Louisville’s biggest Festivals and Early Bird Tickets!

MYLES KENNEDY – Pre-Order, Debut Solo Album, YEAR OF THE TIGER

David Ellefson and EMP Label Group Resurrecting COMBAT RECORDS

Fonts by Google Fonts. Icons by Fontello. Full Credits here »